Mangum Captures Carolina Speedway's SECA Bonus Race

Seizing the opportunity to capture a rare $3000 payday and also stake his claim as a contender for the 2017 SECA Late Model Championship, Timbo Mangum scored the SRI Performance Bonus Race presented by victory this past weekend at Carolina Speedway.

Mangum posted the fastest lap in Friday night qualifying and then powered to the lead ahead of outside pole sitter and March Madness champion Ryan Atkins at the start of the Top 6 Dash to earn the pole position for the SECA Late Model segment of the 17th Annual Skyler Trull Memorial. Atkins held onto the runner-up spot and was followed to the line by John Ruggiero, Trent Ivey, Benji Hicks, & Dillon Brown. The remainder of the starting grid was set with heat races which saw Chris Ferguson and Matt Long emerge victorious.

Saturday's main event lineup delivered a host of drivers capable of scoring the win but it was Mangum who vaulted to the early lead. While Atkins fell in line and searched for a way to challenge the leader, Ferguson began working his way towards the front of the field. Ruggiero, Ivey, Hicks, Long and others jockeyed for positions in the Top 5 during the middle stages of the event. Ferguson then slid past Atkins in an effort to throw one last challenge at Mangum Though the race for the lead tightened up in lap traffic, Mangum and his Swartz chassis would not be denied. The veteran racer would hold of the hard charging Ferguson and Atkins to score one of the most prestigious wins of his career.

Up next for the SECA Late Models is the Bill Hendren Memorial and 2nd Bonus Race of the season on March 25th at Cherokee Speedway. Always a favorite amongst fans and racers alike, this year's edition is set to pay a staggering $5000 to the winner! More details regarding this event are forthcoming.

Partners of the South Eastern Crate Association include: City Chevrolet Performance, Hoosier Racing Tires, SRI Performance, “The Official Auto Parts of the South Eastern Crate Association”, FK Rod Ends, VP Racing Fuels “The Official Racing Fuel of the South Eastern Crate Association”, JRi Shocks, Heintz Performance, Bilstein Shocks, Big A's Custom Graphics, JRS Competition Finishes, Ntense Graphics, ARbodies, Velocita, Flag To Flag, & Thomas Clarke Performance.