Trent Ivey Scores SECA Bonus Race Win At Travelers Rest


In the final SRI Performance SECA Bonus Race of the season, 17 drivers would attempt to score the $2,000 payday this past Monday night at Travelers Rest Speedway. With new promoter Eddie Ray making his dirt track debut at the Labor Day special, the racing community would not let him down as a great crowd was in attendance for an event that offered plenty of excitement throughout the night.

While great racing and fellowship filled the evening, the highlight came at intermission when the speedway and the racing community united to honor fallen police officer Allen Jacobs. It was an humbling and touching moment for all in attendance.

Just before the break, it was Union, SC driver Trent Ivey knocking Furman Parton off the top spot by .032 seconds in time trials. Timbo Mangum, Thomas Robinson and Jeff Robinson rounded out the Top 5 in qualifying.

As the night concluded with the main event of the evening, Ivey would waste no time getting to the front by winning the race off of Turn 2. While an intense battle developed from 2nd - 5th, Ivey was able to stretch his lead out to 10 car lengths. Mangum would eventually get to 2nd place and begin reeling in Ivey just before approaching lap traffic. Mangum was able to cut the lead down to three car lengths but once Ivey cleared the traffic, the former SECA champion was able to retain the lead and go flag to flag to secure his 2nd Bonus Race victory of 2017.

“Winning here tonight was our only chance to get back in the championship hunt", explained an ecstatic Ivey. "This is pretty awesome when you can win back to back like this close to home. My team is awesome and continue keep a competitive car under me. Hopefully with the big shows that are coming up, we can keep this positive momentum rolling.”

Partners of the South Eastern Crate Association include: City Chevrolet Performance, Hoosier Racing Tires, SRI Performance, “The Official Auto Parts of the South Eastern Crate Association”, FK Rod Ends, VP Racing Fuels “The Official Racing Fuel of the South Eastern Crate Association”, JRi Shocks, Bilstein Shock Absorbers, Big A's Custom Graphics, JRS Competition Finishes, Ntense Graphics, ARbodies, Velocita-USA, Flag To Flag, & Thomas Clarke Performance.